perfect herbed grill chicken [à la Gwyneth Paltrow]

Remember when I said that studying for the Bar would yield more recipe posts? Well, here it is. I consider it a stress response. Sometimes getting multiple low-percents (not going to reveal how low…) in one week on Barbri MPQ1s is just too much to handle. So, what do I do? Focus on improving my cooking expertise. You know, just in case being a lawyer doesn’t work out? I can be a line cook somewhere, right? Right. [Yikes.]

This past Saturday one of my good friends from law school got hitched, to boy from our section. It was the most incredible wedding – exactly what I want when/if I get married. (Sorry Katie, I may or may not copy everything you did. kgreatthx.) Anyway, the night before leaving for Nashvegas, Jamie (my perfect wedding date) came into Bham to spend the night and do generally girly things. I made dinner for Jamie, my mom, and I before heading to the Summit for Steel City Pops and a little Sephora run (oops?). I made a great chicken recipe from It’s All Good, by Gwyneth Paltrow [a superb cookbook that I got for graduation from my second-dad and second-step mother, who just know me oh so well. It's ridiculous how perfect this gift was.] It’s a great gift for anyone that wants healthy recipes that are [for the most part] easy to make. I really love it because its basic tenet is simple: clean eating (i.e., whole foods, lots of veggies and lean proteins, no sugar added in any recipe, etc.) It’s a great compromise after going paleo last summer because it includes all of the things I loved about the paleo diet, without the [fairly intense] strictness that comes with it. Ok, I’m getting off my soapbox now. I should be a spokesperson for her book. Really.

Image

The final product got Jamie’s stamp of approval, and she’s one of the most straight-forward/no BS people I know. So if she says it’s good, by golly, it’s probably a keeper.

[Also, aren't we cute?]

perfect herbed grilled chicken*

ingredients:

  • 1 tsp dried sage (fresh is preferable, if you have it!)
  • 1 tsp dried thyme (ditto)
  • 1 tsp very finely chopped fresh rosemary (which I actually had)
  • 1 Tbs dried basil (fresh, if possible)
  • 1 garlic clove, finely minced
  • 1/4 c EVOO
  • zest of 1/2 lemon
  • 2 Tbs freshly-squeezed lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp coarse sea salt
  • 3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts pounded to 1/4 to 1/2 inch thick

directions:

Combine the herbs, garlic, EVOO, lemon zest, lemon juice, and salt in a large mixing bowl. Add your flattened chicken to it and rub the herby-goodness all over those babies. Make sure you cover each piece, and on both sides! Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and let it sit for at least 1/2 hour (go longer if you can! Even over night is an option). It should look something like this:

Image

Heat a grill pan over medium heat (or plug in your handy dandy George Forman!). Grill those puppies until just cooked through (it won’t take long, since they’re so thin – about 2 – 3 minutes on each side).

Image

I served it with roasted sweet potato wedges, caramelized, shredded brussels sprouts (recipe to come!), and a pretty stellar French wine.

Now, just try to tell me that that does not look fantastic? And it’s such a clean meal. It was perfect for a night before wedding debauchery shenanigans.

Image

*sigh*

I should have been born in France. Did I tell y’all that if I could be/do anything in the world, I would be an oenologist?

Eat up [and drink up], y’all!

*per usual, I edited the recipe a little bit based on what I had in stock. The book is reallllllyyyy worth the purchase, in my humble opinion. Plus, it’s a pretty one to keep on the coffee table! 

3 thoughts on “perfect herbed grill chicken [à la Gwyneth Paltrow]

  1. Pingback: Easy and Delicious Chicken Recipe | Nutrition & Health: Chicago Style

Leave a Reply

