Banana-chocolate chip whole wheat muffins (with cow sprinkles)

Happy Easter, y’all!

I love Easter. Not only is it finally Spring (and a mere 2 days after my birthday), but it’s also such a wonderful holiday – a celebration of the resurrection of Christ. It’s so easy to forget the reason for holidays – everything is just so commercial nowadays.

I am truly so blessed and fortunate to have such wonderful friends and family. I’ve had the best Spring Break and quarter-century birthday a girl could ever ask for! I’ve gotten to spend it with my best friend in the whole world, down in her new house in Miami, with her precious kittens and puppy (plus her boyfriend has been gracious enough to sacrifice his side of the bed for me – B and I like to snuggle). The weather has been incredible, fresh berries and vegetables from the farmers’ markets have been such a treat for me, and I’m just completely relaxed and recharged.

So, here goes my first recipe (eek)! B had some overly ripe bananas on the counter and some chocolate chips in the pantry, so obviously I just had to make some banana bread. B prefers muffins – plus she has some of the happiest cupcake/muffin liners ever – so that was that. I used what I could find in B’s kitchen (she is a great cook and thoroughly well-stocked), and it was fun scavenging for ingredients that I wouldn’t normally use!

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups flour (I used ~1 1/4 c all purpose + 3/4 c whole wheat)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon (or more to taste)
  • 1 large egg
  • 3/4 cup sugar (I used equal parts white and brown sugar – when I’m in my own kitchen I use coconut sugar)
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • ~ 2 Tbs butter, melted (I usually use coconut oil, or even apple sauce, but B was fresh out)
  • 2 (very) ripe bananas, mashed
  • 3/4 c plain, nonfat Greek yogurt (I ❤ Chobani)
  • ~ 3/4 chocolate chips, or more if you’re feelin’ the chocolate vibe (I used a combo of semi-sweet and 60% cacao)
  • dash of salt (optional)
  • Sprinkles (~ 1/4 cup) (not optional)

Directions:

Pre-heat your oven to 350F and line a muffin tin with liners (this recipe ended up making about 15 muffins, so you’ll most likely need 2 tins).

In a large mixing bowl, mix the mashed bananas, egg, yogurt, melted butter, sugar, vanilla, cinnamon, and chocolate chips. Next, add your flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt – mix until just combined. (Your mixture will be kind of lumpy because of the banana.)

Pour your mush-of-deliciousness into your prepped muffin pan, filling each well about 3/4 of the way to the top. Cover the top of each muffin with sprinkles (B had cow sprinkles, which were awesome, but rainbow sprinkles will work nicely, as well) and throw them in the oven for 20 – 22 minutes, or until a toothpick – inserted in the center – comes out clean.

Serve with a cup of your favorite coffee and eat up, y’all! Happy Easter!

Luke 24:1-12

But on the first day of the week, at early dawn, they came to the tomb, bringing the spices which they had prepared. And they found the stone rolled away from the tomb, but when they entered, they did not find the body of the Lord Jesus. And it happened that while they were perplexed about this, behold, two men suddenly stood near them in dazzling apparel; and as the women were terrified and bowed their faces to the ground, the men said to them, “Why do you seek the living One among the dead? “He is not here, but He has risen…”

Image

fresh out of the oven!

Image

the cow sprinkles really made these. clearly.

Image

nope. not good at all. 😉

Leave a Reply

