whole wheat chocolate chip mini muffin tops

[So these started out as “cookies.” But, after further critique and review, my law school comrades decided that these taste more like muffin tops than cookies. So, we’ll save a cookie post for another day; and just rename these puppies. They’re still delicious and they still work on that notorious sweet tooth for when it’s craving a fix.]

I found all of the ingredients for these bad boys in my kitchen – so it’s not complicated, since we’re not exactly super-stocked… Tonight is Barrister’s Ball (read: law prom) and a group of us are convening here for some pre-prom festivities. So I’ve been scrubbing our house down allll morning and I smell like Fantastik and Febreeze candles. Not bad things to smell like… but I prefer smelling like baked goods. I couldn’t have people over without baking/cooking something, so I decided to throw these delicious morsels together. I’ll also be cooking something non-desserty, but I won’t spoil the surprise yet! I’ll post that recipe (if it works out…) tomorrow in my post-law prom coma.

Ingredients:

  • 1 c Splenda (or granulated sugar, if you’re not into fake sugars) 
  • 1/2 c packed light brown sugar
  • 1/2 c apple sauce
  • 1/2 c non-fat vanilla Greek yogurt (plain would work, as well – we just had this on hand)
  • ~1 T yogurt butter, softened (or regular butter, if that’s your jam)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp almond extract
  • 1 egg
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • ~1 c semisweet chocolate chips (I use “~” because I, apparently, downed quite a few of them while I was assembling this masterpiece…)

Directions:

Pre-heat your oven to 375F. In a large bowl, mix your sugars, yogurt, apple sauce, butter, vanilla, almond extract, and egg until well blended. Then stir in your flour, baking soda, and salt. Lastly, fold in your chocolate chips (without eating a lot of them, first… oops?) It should look kind of like this:

Image

Drop your dough on a pan or cookie sheet by tablespoonfuls about 2 inches apart. Bake those puppies for 8 to 10 minutes, or until light golden brown, like this:

Image

Aren’t they pretty?! They do kind of taste like health-cookies, but they will definitely satisfy the sweet tooth without all the guilt. Plus, I weirdly like it when things taste healthy and/or raw… but these aren’t nearly as healthy-tasting as they sound. Promise.

Enjoy with a glass of almond milk or a cup of strong coffee, preferably on a porch and with a good book. Eat up and happy Saturday, y’all!

Leave a Reply

