asparagus soup

Y’all. It feels so weird to be done with law school [caveat: I have a P/F symposium paper to write, but that minor detail doesn’t count as ‘not being done’… I am hugging that line between pass and fail]. I finished my law-school-exam-career last Thursday with criminal procedure, and I haven’t done a single, productive thing since (besides CrossFit, running, and cooking. My life is so hard, I know). I had designated today as the day that I would begin (and in my perfect world, finish) that symposium paper. But, alas, God sent Tuscaloosa a magnificent day – instead of the 7-day-rain nonsense that the weather channel was predicting. So now I’m sitting on the porch, post-CrossFit, sipping on my newest juice concoction, and blogging. [One of my tabs is open to Westlaw… so that counts as ‘working’ on my paper, right? Right.]

I. love. asparagus. Not really sure why, but I do. Roasted, sautéed, puréed in a soup, it’s just a versatile vegetable. My mom, uncle and I were avid backpackers while I was growing up and we (for some reason) always had canned asparagus on our packing trips. It sounds gross, I know, but I just loved it. I thought it was borderline sacrilegious to eat fresh asparagus because it meant that we weren’t backpacking. (So I was a weird child… oh well). I got over my adamant protest of those fresh little green stalks and now (shockingly enough), I prefer it fresh! (Thank goodness).

Anyway, I made this soup on Saturday night for Kennedy and I – thank you Pinterest, for the find* – and it turned out pretty darn good! We had it with sweet potato fries and a baked chicken breast (baked with Greek yogurt and homemade, from-scratch bread crumbs):

Image

*I modified the recipe a tad to fit in with what I had in my kitchen. Go here for the original recipe!

asparagus soup Image

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb asparagus (I weighed the bushels at Wal-Mart, and each one was right at 1 lb)
  • 2 tsp olive oil (or some other cooking fat)
  • 1/2 chopped shallots
  • paprika
  • 3 cups chicken broth (I used almost 3 cups, and then topped off the last bit with white wine we had open in the fridge)
  • 1 tsp white wine vinegar
  • 2 tbsp nonfat plain Greek yogurt

Directions:

Wash your asparagus and cut off the hard ends. Then cut off the tips (~1 1/2 inches) and set them aside (you’ll roast them in a minute, so go ahead and pre-heat your oven to 400F).  Slide the spears, tip-to-tip, fairly thinly. Heat your olive oil in a big pot (that has a lid) over low heat. Add your shallots to the oil and sauté them until they’re translucent (just a few minutes), then add the asparagus and sautée for about 15 minutes, stirring every so often so nothing burns. Season with paprika as desired.

Pour in the broth mixture (or plain broth) and cover the pot. Continue to cook for 20 – 30 minutes (I cooked it for 30).

Oil a baking sheet and ass the asparagus tips from earlier. Stir them around to coat them with the oil, salt and pepper those suckers, and throw them in the oven to roast for about 12 minutes (make sure they’re in a single layer so they roast evenly).

When your soup is done in the pot, pour it into a blender and blend it all up until you have a smooth soup. Stir in the white wine vinegar and add more spices if desired.

Pour the soup back into the pot on the stove (still on low heat) and add your Greek yogurt. Whisk it until it’s all mixed together.

Pour some of the green goodness into a bowl, top with some roasted asparagus spears, and voilà! Asparagus soup!

Image

Leave a Reply

