sweet potato bread

I know I’ve been pretty MIA from the blogosphere recently, but I do have an excuse: law school graduation. While, yes, it was technically only one day… it was a whirlwind of a week: celebrations, dinners, happy hours, movie nights, meeting families, and just generally wanting to spend every waking moment with friends. I have made some of the best friends of my life over these past three years, and I cannot imagine going into the next chapter without all of them with me. (But, thanks to the interwebz, they can’t really get rid of me.) Our class is superbly talented and brilliant, and I feel so honored to have graduated with such a fantastic group of people (… and from the 21st best law school in the country). The future of the southern legal system is in capable hands, y’all. Anyway, enough sentimentality. My fragile emotional state can’t handle it. Let’s talk food. 

I made this sweet potato bread during exams a couple of weeks ago, but just never posted it. I was going to just post my photos and recipe from that endeavor, but I was scolded by a certain boy because he didn’t believe that I would remember the recipe… and he turned his nose up at the idea of posting of back-logged recipes. [When, in reality, I’m pretty sure he just wanted me to make it again because it’s just that good. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.] So, I just finished making it again. I really wish I could post smells, because our house smells really really good right about now. 

sweet potato bread

Ingredients:

  • 1 large sweet potato, baked and smashed 
  • 1 1/2 c white sugar (or sugar substitute, whatever strikes your fancy)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 c unsweetened apple sauce
  • 1/4 c olive oil 
  • 1 3/4 c all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt 
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon 
  • 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice (this isn’t required, but I just always have it and love the way it tastes) 
  • 1/4 tsp almond extract (or vanilla, if that’s what you have on hand) 
  • 1/3 c H2O
  • [optional: 1/2 c chopped pecans. I didn’t add these this time, but it is very good with them in it.]
  • Equipment: 9×5 inch (greased) loaf pan 

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 350F. Then combine your sugar, oil, and apple sauce in a large mixing bowl. In a separate bowl, mix the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, and pumpkin pie spice.

Image

Then stir the flour mixture into the egg/oil/applesauce stuff, alternating it with the water to help it combine.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Add your extract-of-choice and the mashed sweet potato:

Image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pour your ambrosial batter into the loaf pan, like so:

Image

 

 

 

Toss that puppy into the oven for 50-60 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. 

 

 

And… *drum roll*… voilà! Isn’t it pretty!? Eat up, y’all! And happy graduation to the UA Law c/o 2013! 

Image

Leave a Reply

