balsamic-glazed steak rolls

Time for a little sentimental blogging, pre-food-goodness:

I’ve spent the last hour researching and reserving a storage unit and figuring out how big I need my U-Haul truck to be… this whole moving-out-of-ttown thing is gettin’ real. And I don’t know how I feel about it. It’s exciting to be done with law school, that’s for sure. But this last year – especially these last 5 months – has probably been the best of my life. I haven’t had  much to do besides hang out with my friends, cook, read books that I actually want to read, go to CrossFit, and generally just enjoy the crap out of life. But, I am excited to see what this new chapter brings. So many things have changed in my life over the course of this last year – some for the [much] better, some for the worse. But I know that whatever happens next, God has some kind of plan for me. And that’s pretty reassuring, when you stop to think about it. 

And now time for what you probably actually want to read about: BALSAMIC-GLAZED STEAK ROLLS!

I pinned this recipe a while back, but wanted some kind of ‘occasion’ to make it for, since it looked like such an involved recipe to tackle. So, I made it for my roommate and the boy the other night. [The ‘occasion’ being his last night in the states before hopping the pond to Eastern Europe for a trip. Good a reason as any to make a stellar meal, right? Right.]

While there are a few moving parts to the recipe, it’s actually pretty easy and comes out looking awesome [read: your friends will be super impressed, despite how simple it all is]. I got the recipe from here (but, per usual, I changed just a few things based on what spices, etc. I had in our cabinet). 

Image

 

 

IngredientsImage

For the steak:

  • 1 1/2 – 2 lbs flank (or skirt) steak
  • salt+pepper
  • 3 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tbsp olive oil 

Veggie filling:

  • 1 carrot
  • 1 bell pepper (I went with green bc it’s the cheapest)
  • 1 zucchini 
  • ~ 6 green onions
  • ~ 1 tsp of some kind of seasoning (I used dried basil and thyme, but the original recipe calls for italian herb seasoning)

Balsamic glaze (the sauce):

  • 2 tsp butter
  • 2 tbsp finely chopped shallots 
  • 1/4 c balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar (I used coconut sugar) 
  • 1/4 c beef broth 

Equipment: sautée pans (at least 1 small + 1 large), toothpicks 

Directions:

Your first step is to prep the steak. Trim as much fat as you can, then slice the steak into about 3 – 4 inch wide strips. Before I sliced mine into strips, I also had to slice the (whole) steak (width-wise) into two, thinner steaks because the cut was too thick to wrap. I ended up with about 8 strips. The original recipe says that you can tenderize the strips with a meat hammer, if you want, but I opted out of this step. Season the strips with salt, pepper, and Worcestershire sauce and let it marinade for at least 30 minutes. 

Next stop: the veggie filling. Cut the carrot, bell pepper, and zucchini into matchsticks (just a little longer than the width of your steak strips). Cut the green onions into the same length and slice in half length-wise. 

Next let’s do the sauce: melt your butter in a small sauce pan on medium heat. Then add your shallots and sautée then for about 2 minutes, or until they’re soft. Add the balsamic vinegar, sugar, and beef stock. Stir. Let the sauce come to a boil until it reduces in volume by about half. It should become about the consistency of syrup. When this happens, turn off the heat and pour the sauce into a bowl. 

Return of the veggies: using the same sauce pan (or another, it doesn’t matter) toss in your carrot, bell pepper, and zucchini sticks on high heat with a little bit of olive oil. Sautée/stir fry them for (only) 2 – 3 minutes. Season them with your herbs/seasoning of choice and some salt and pepper and put them in a bowl. 

Now… *drum roll*… it’s time to assemble your rolls! 

Take a strip of your marinated steak and lay it on a clean surface. Place some veggies and green onion in the middle of the strip (with the short side facing you and the veggies perpendicular to the strip) and roll. Secure each roll with 1 – 2 toothpicks. Repeat until all strips are rolled. 

Image

 

 

Next, heat a large skillet over medium-high heat with some olive oil. When it’s good and hot, add the rolls, seam side down. Cook for a couple of minutes. Then turn each roll and cook on all sides until you reach your desired doneness! 

 

 

 

 

I served mine with the toothpicks still in them, just to keep them together so they looked pretty on the plate. Spoon some of the balsamic glaze over the top of each roll and enjoy! Don’t they look impressive?

Image

I served them with some mustard-roasted potatoes (recipe to follow soon!) and a kale salad with homemade vinaigrette, mandarin oranges, and almond slivers. It was a huge success, and even tasted just as good for lunch the next day.

 Eat up, y’all! 

One thought on “balsamic-glazed steak rolls

  1. Pingback: mustard-roasted red potatoes | Well, Bless Her Heartichokes

Leave a Reply

