[paleo] coconut pancakes

So I just got back from a little beach getaway with some of my best girlfriends. We were all in desperate need of a tiny break from the humdrum lives we currently lead, chock full of Barbri-depression, so we hopped on down to my house in Florida for 2 nights. It was glorious [despite the fact that we had to listen to lectures on the beach and watch others partake in more fun beach-appropriate festivities…] Jessica and I went on a barefoot beach run yesterday morning before the other girls woke up, and my calves are still tight. No pain no gain, right?

It’s technically way past my bedtime (it’s 11:20 pm), but I drank coffee around 5:00 so I would be fully alert to drive back home… and let’s just say, Dunkin Donuts Hazelnut did its job. Now I’m wired, Barbri’d out, and ready to blog my latest treat!

So, life update: I’ve decided to cut back on my gluten intake, mostly due to my late uncle’s research/reading he was doing before he died last fall on how today’s wheat is basically a mutant version of what wheat is really supposed to be. I felt so incredible when I went paleo for a little while last summer that I’ve decided to try and incorporate more of that lifestyle into my eating habits [without the extreme strictness of the true caveman diet, but with the gluten-free aspect… (read: wine isn’t going anywhere, duh.)]

In an attempt to jump start this little lifestyle change of mine, I made these paleo coconut pancakes for my mom and I last weekend. The first batch turned out okay – nothing too special. But I toyed around with the recipe a little bit and the next day’s batch was out. of. this. world. My mom isn’t a big fan of paleo foods, in general, but she absolutely loved these pancakes! They’re full of tasty, good fats and lacking in gluten. They’re a great breakfast option for those of ya’ll who are sick of your average breakfast vittles. Plus, you can make a bunch of them at the beginning of the week and refrigerate and/or freeze the rest!

[paleo] coconut pancakesphoto (11)

[this recipe yielded enough pancakes for my mom and I for 2 mornings – about 10 (roughly) palm-sized pancakes, total]

ingredients:

  • 1/2 c coconut flour
  • 6 eggs + 2 egg whites
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 (really) ripe banana, mashed up really well
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 7 – 8 Tbs almond milk (or milk of choice, preferably with some fat)
  • 1 Tbs coconut oil, melted
  • olive oil,  coconut oil, or butter, for frying

directions

Using a wire whisk, blend the coconut flour with the baking soda and get rid of any lumps. In a separate bowl, beat your eggs and coconut milk really well (this makes the final product fluffier!) – I used a hand mixer, but going to town on those puppies with a whisk or fork will probably do the trick, too.

photo (9)

Then, combine your dry ingredients with the wet ingredients and whisk until smooth. Allow the batter to rest for about 10 minutes. When your 10 minutes are up, add your mashed naner and mix well.

Heat your fat-of-choice in a skillet over medium heat and spoon on some of your batter. After a minute or two, I checked the bottom of each pancake – with my spatula by lifting up the edges a little bit – to see if they were browning nicely (they were! *whew*). These babies don’t bubble like normal pancakes do when they’re ready to be flipped, so you’ll have to keep checking until you reach your desired doneness. Finally (obviously), flip those little suckers and finish cooking them through.

And then…. *drumroll*… you’ve got yourself some paleo pancakes! Aren’t they pretty?! My finishing touches that morning consisted of  homemade blueberry ‘compote’, a sliced banana, and copious amounts of black coffee. [And that’s Barbri under the pancakes – my new, very jealous boyfriend. He’s just… always around. Our relationship is getting quite strained, because he makes me feel really dumb. #yesIthinkIamfunny #recentlawgradhumor? #yikes.]

photo (6)

And if you want to see what else I top my pancakes with, here are my latest obsessions:

photo (10)To say that Trader Joe’s Speculoos Crunchy Cookie Butter is mind-blowingly delicious is the understatement of the century. It’s just… ambrosial… and awesome… and good on anything. I may or may not be completely and utterly in love with it.

And coconut manna is an awesome substitute for butter. I get my coconut products from Nutiva, which has awesome deals on Tuesdays (Nutiva Tuesdays). Check it out. Seriously. You won’t regret it.

That cute little jug-like container is a sample of Canadian maple syrup. Don’t ask me why we have it, because I don’t know. What I do know is that Canadians, apparently, sure do know how to make some fine syrup. That’s some good stuff, right there.

Well, I guess it’s about time for me to hit the hay. Eat up, y’all!

Leave a Reply

