caramelized shredded brussels sprouts

Studying for the Bar just makes me feel icky. Not only do I spend all day, every day, sitting on my rear end, hunched over a book, but I have also fallen prey to number 3 on the Ten Things You Will Do While Studying for the Bar article that I talked about a little while ago… I have abandoned CrossFit (it took me a long time to type that sentence right there… #guilty). I’m such a fitness nut – and have managed to work in some at-home WODs – but only about once or twice a week. And I’ve only been running about once or twice a week, too. Needless to say, my body is yelling at me and is completely thrown off because I have abandoned the one thing that kept me sane throughout law school – my dedication to fitness. I know y’all are probably thinking “oh god, another one of those girls… with a silly work out addiction/cultish love for CrossFit.” But seriously. CrossFit is the only thing that makes my mind completely and utterly focused on the task at hand, without wandering and worrying about the next thing on my To Do list. I bet this “abandonment” is one of the reasons that I’ve been so thrown off lately. I don’t have my stress reliever and mental-focuser to help me get through this Bar nonsense. Now that I’ve said my piece to the blogosphere, I guess have to hold myself accountable and get my behind into gear… 🙂 

Another little gem: one of my closest friends in college (also a fellow blogger!) posted this today, and it really applies to my life right now:

When you feel anxious/overwhelmed by mounting “To Dos” take a deep breath and just begin. Complete one task at a time. Action reduces anxiety.

It’s much easier said than done, I know. But if you keep her “action reduces anxiety” running through your head, you’ll be amazed at how much easier it is to get over that initial hurdle of I’m-too-stressed-to-even-begin-this-crap. Try it out. 

Well, beyond that little therapy session y’all just had to suffer through (#sorryImnotsorry), at least I haven’t abandoned my cooking! So let’s get to it, shall we?

I know, I know… brussels sprouts? Really?

But y’all… these are goooood. Like, stupidly good. My mother, who doesn’t really enjoy (read: doesn’t actually like) brussels sprouts, adores – and even requests – these.  All of my friends who have been forced to try them have loved them, as well. They’re a great side for any kind of meat, and they look gorgeously green on the plate!

caramelized shredded brussels sprouts

ingredients:

  • 1 package of fresh brussels sprouts (my grocery store pre-packages them so they’re easy to grab, but I know at Publix they’re in bulk and you fill up a bag. I would recommend starting with about 2 big handfuls. That should feed 2 – 3 people.
  • ~ 3 Tbs coconut sugar (or brown sugar) 
  • 1 Tbs coconut oil, for sautéing (or your preferred fat-of-choice) 

directions:

Your first step will be to shred your brussels sprouts. You’ll do this by cutting off the hard stem (and discarding it), and then finely slicing the brussels sprouts from bottom to top (or stem to top). They should look something like this:

Image

Heat your oil in a large skillet over medium heat and toss in those shreds-of-goodness. Let them cook for a few minutes, until they start getting a deeper, richer green. When this happens, sprinkle your sugar all over. Mix well and allow everything to sautée together until the brussels have started to wilt. (You don’t want them too wilted; you’ll want them to retain some of their crunch.) It doesn’t take that long, so keep an eye out! 

Image

Your finished product will look something like this (sorry for the blur…):

Told y’all they were pretty! And see how easy that was?! It took barely any time at all, and all you need to (specially) purchase are the sprouts, because you likely have brown sugar and oil somewhere in your pantry, already, or one of your friends does! 

Eat up, y’all! And stay strong, all you fellow Bar-studiers out there! 

3 thoughts on “caramelized shredded brussels sprouts

  1. Pingback: caramelized brussels sprouts/goat cheese/bacon pizza | Well, Bless Her Heartichokes

Leave a Reply

