[skinny] funfetti sheet cake

I hope everyone had an awesome Fourth! It rained here a good bit, but that didn’t deter us. It was one of my best friends from law school’s birthday, so we had a little get-together chez moi to celebrate!

Y’all. I seriously have the cutest friends. 

Image

I made her a birthday cake and mixed up the libations, but two of my other friends made all the good stuff (stellar fruit pizza, mouth-watering avocado dip, etc.) Their food was in-cre-di-ble. It kind of put my cake to shame, but I’m totally ok with that (since I got to eat all the goodies). They also brought Chick-fil-A nuggets and Baby Bites (my mouth is watering writing this). We had a feast, let me tell you.

But enough of me making y’all jealous, here’s the story behind the skinny sprite cake:

Since we had to live on campus all four years at Vandy, pretty much no one had a full kitchen for at least the first two years of college. The sorority house had full kitchen, but you never wanted to buy oil, eggs, etc. to make just one cake or batch cupcakes (because you’d probably never use the stuff again before it spoiled). Hence, the birth of sprite cake. Not only is it a money-saver, but it’s also lower in calories. [Ok, so it’s not “healthy” and doesn’t fall under my “clean eating” approach… but it’s pretty delicious and great for a super-easy cake when you need to bake one ASAP.]

There are also “skinny” icings that you can make, but I just used cream cheese icing (from the store) and made an American flag on top, like her momma does for her birthday every year! (Halved/quartered strawberries, mini marshmallows, and blueberries, y’all can figure out the design, I’m sure…)

Image

skinny funfetti sheet cake

ingredients:

  • 1 box funfetti cake mix (you can also use white cake mix)*
  • 1 can sprite zero 

*If you want to make chocolate cake, you can use chocolate cake mix and a can of diet coke.

directions

Are y’all ready for this? Y’all are about to have your minds blown…

Whisk your 12 ounces of sprite zero with your funfetti mix. Pour it all into a greased up cake pan, and bake per the directions on the package (or until a toothpick comes out clean). [I baked mine at 350F, and it took somewhere in the 27 – 30 minute range.] And that’s it!

Boom. Done. Mind. Blown. 

Just another picture, for the road, since it’s festive and pretty:

Image

 

Eat up, y’all! 

2 thoughts on “[skinny] funfetti sheet cake

Leave a Reply

