sweet potato brownies

To say that I am merely sick of studying is grossly understating my current mental state. It’s almost judgment day, which means I’m both the happiest and the most stressed I’ve been all summer… it’s a strange feeling. When I just. can’t. study. anymore., I get this gut-wrenching, guilty feeling that I should be studying. So what do I do? I walk on the treadmill, cook something, or do a barre3 workout. Because those activities are all productive uses of my time, right? Right. 

Anyway, last night a couple of my old crossfit cohorts were talking on FB about making some of paleOMG‘s sweet potato brownies. I follow her blog pretty religiously, and had completely forgotten about these gems from a few months ago. So I threw a sweet tater in the oven while I finished up an MPQ2 question set and then baked some paleo brownies while I cooked dinner. They were/are delicious! My mother, who’s not a huge fan of my über-healthy experiments when they taste like grass health food, almost didn’t believe me when I told her that they were paleo! 

I followed paleomg’s recipe for the most part, but added more cinnamon and more vanilla, subbed some olive oil for part of the coconut oil (I’m almost out! DISASTER.), didn’t use raw honey, and opted out of the chocolate chips (only because I didn’t have any on hand…). For the real recipe, be sure to go here

sweet potato brownies

Image

ingredients

  • 1 sweet potato, baked
  • 3 eggs, whisked
  • 3 Tbs coconut oil, melted 
  • 1 Tbs olive oil 
  • 5 Tbs honey
  • 3 Tbs coconut flour (I’m borderline obsessed with Nutiva’s organic coconut flour)
  • 2 Tbs unsweetened cocoa powder 
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder 
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon (I actually threw in a little extra on top of that…)
  • large pinch of salt 

directions:

First, you’ll need to bake your sweet potato. I baked mine on 425F for around 35 minutes to get it good and soft. Once it’s done (it should be soft to the touch), take it out of the oven, let it cool some, and then peel it. Smash all that orange goodness in a bowl and turn your oven down to 350F. Next, add all the wet stuff to the mashed tater and mix well. Then add all the dry stuff and mix some more. Lightly grease a brownie pan and pour your batter in. Bake for ~30 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. 

I know it’ll be hard… but you should really let it rest and cool off a bit before cutting into it, if for no other reason than that you are less likely to burn the living daylights out of your tongue when you take your first bite… like I did. 

Eat up, y’all! 

Image

Leave a Reply

