caramelized brussels sprouts/goat cheese/bacon pizza

Y’all. I have had the absolute BEST time since the Bar. Not only did I get to be a bum on the beach with my mom for a week right after that horrible exam, but one of my best friends also got married this past weekend! The wedding festivities were out. of. this. world. And so was the wedding party! We all had the best time and got along superbly. I feel so blessed to have been a part of her big day. It was legit the most fun wedding ever. For serious.

But enough of making y’all jealous of my super awesome life. 😛 Here’s the good stuff – the food:

I know y’all are probably thinking “another pizza??” But I just love making pizza. It’s just so much fun to do with someone else and a glass (or two) of red wine. I went on a pizza-date the other night, and my date and I made one caramelized brussels sprouts/goat cheese/bacon pizza and one of my old standbys, potato/rosemary/mozzarella. They were both out of control delicious! [And, yes, the boy was impressed, too] It was an all around highly successful and super fun date. [I give the pizza all the credit. Well, I guess the boy was ok, too… ;)]

This post is kind of a mélange of some of my previous pizza posts, with the instructions on how to assemble the final product. I hope y’all can follow along!

~ I made the dough the morning of – go here for my recipe!

~ And we made the pizza sauce from scratch, too! Go here for my recipe.

~ For the brussels, go here! I went by my recipe from my old post, but I didn’t caramelize them quite as long, because they continued to cook on top of the pizza.

Image

ingredients

  • caramelized shredded brussels ingredients!
  • crumbled goat cheese
  • 2 slices bacon, cooked ’til crispy, and crumbled
  • pizza sauce ingredients!
  • dough

directions

Assemble your sauce, per my previous post. While it’s simmering, do your brussels. Press out your dough, cover in sauce, leaving about an inch around the edges (for the crust, of course!) Then sprinkle your goat cheese, crumbled bacon, and brussels. Throw that sucker in your preheated 500F oven for about 10 – 15  minutes [or until when you lift up the pizza with a spatula, the bottom of the crust is starting to brown!]

ImageIsn’t it pretty?! It was just as delicious, if not more so, than it looks. I swear.

And just because I can, here’s a photo of our other pizza creation! [potato+fresh rosemary+mozzarella]

ImageEat up y’all!

p.s. I’m going to Paris this afternoon! My uncle and I are going on a week-long excursion across the pond to Paris and Normandy and I COULD NOT BE MORE EXCITED! Expect a very long post when I return about all of the delicious food and wine! Eek!

Leave a Reply

