herb-infused olive oil

Y’all. I only have 10 more days left of my funemployment. Where has the time gone?! I’ve done a whole lot of nothing since the bar. [Well, unless you count watching BBC shows on Netflix constantly for hours on end, then I’ve done a lot…] I’ve spent the last few weeks between my new apartment in Nashville and my mother’s house in Birmingham. Moving is quite possibly one of my least favorite things in this world – if not my absolute least favorite. It’s a very drawn-out process for me… every time I come back to my mother’s house I find stuff that I inadvertently left behind. Ugh. Oh well. 

Anyway, I made a quick and healthy dinner (shocker, I know…) for my mom and the boy the other night [prosciutto and roasted red pepper stuff chicken breasts. #phenom.]. And as a little experiment surprise, I made some herb-infused olive oil to serve with a toasted baguette before the main course! It turned out pretty darn delicious, if you ask me. Also, it makes a great idea for a super easy homemade gift! I used basil since the boy is slightly obsessed with that particular herb, but you can sub any herb you wish! [I do recommend using basil, though!]

 

herb-infused olive oil Image

ingredients:

  • 3/4 c olive oil
  • 1 – 2 garlic cloves (or more, if you love garlic and don’t have to worry about your breath being kickin)
  • 1/2 – 1 tsp black peppercorns 
  • 4 – 5 sprigs fresh basil 
  • rind from ~ 1/2 lemon 

equipment:

  • small/medium pot to heat everything in 
  • air tight container, for storing
  • hand strainer 
  • funnel 

directions:

Are y’all ready for how easy this is? I’m not sure you are… 

Throw everything in the pot and heat over medium/high heat (but below the oil’s smoking point!) for 8 – 10 minutes.

Image

Then put your funnel over the air tight container you’re going to store the final product in, and strain the oil through the funnel.

Image

[I put a little bit of the basil, peppercorns, etc. in the container with the strained oil, just for looks so you could tell what flavors to expect.] And voilà! Some of the tastiest olive oil for bread-dippin you’ve ever had! 

 

Eat up, y’all! And HAPPY FALL!!!! Get ready for a plethora of pumpkin recipes! 

Leave a Reply

