pumpkin spice muffin tops

October is one of my all time favorite months. By this time, I’m generally sick of the southern summer heat, I’m ready to rock my over-sized flannel shirts and fleece vests, and my boots are calling my name. And this year, October also means when I start work! [EEK] I just don’t feel old enough to be a full-fledged attorney, but I guess it’s about that time to put my big girl panties on and get to it.

However, I still have a few more days of funemployment. So, I’ll spend them like I’ve been spending the last few weeks – mostly on the couch or in the kitchen, with my roommate, watching TV, playing on pinterest, and making the apartment smell like a bakery. [thumbs up.]

Speaking of my roommate, she is one of the most thoughtful people on this earth. Monday was a pretty rough day for my family and me. When I got back from my workout that day, MR had a precious card and these happy flowers waiting for me:

Image

Aren’t they just so happy? And I needed a splash of happy that day. They definitely did the trick – and so did my card. Never underestimate the effect a card can have on a person.

But onto a little less heavy topic… let’s talk about pumpkin. I. love. pumpkin. PSL season is one of the most exciting times of the year. For real. When I was at Trader Joe’s the other day, they had pumpkin everything. So naturally, I got a couple cans of organic pumpkin. You know, just in case I got the hankering to bake something… which I obviously did. My mom got me a muffin top pan a few years ago, since that’s my absolute favorite part of the muffin. But a regular muffin pan works perfectly for this recipe, too! [I made both muffin tops and muffins this round.] So, here goes!

pumpkin spice muffin tops

ingredients:

  • 1 3/4 c flour – I used 1 c whole wheat and 3/4 c all-purpose/white
  • 1 Tbs baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/4 tsp ground cardamom [not necessarily vital… but I highly recommend keeping some on hand anyway!]
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1 c organic pumpkin puree
  • 1/4 c (heaping) coconut sugar [or sweetener/sugar of choice]
  • 1 (ripe) banana, mashed
  • 1/2 c almond milk [or milk of choice]
  • 1/4 c coconut oil, melted [vegetable oil works, too]

directions:

Preheat your oven to 400F and spray down a muffin pan (this recipe should yield ~ 12 muffins). Whisk together your flours, baking powder, pumpkin pie spice, cinnamon, cloves, cardamom, and salt, like so: Image

Next, in a separate bowl, mix together your pumpkin puree, sugar, mashed banana, almond milk, and coconut oil:Image

Stir until everything is mixed together really well.

Next, gently fold the dry ingredients into the wet ones. DO NOT OVER-MIX. [That’s the key to not getting tough or gross muffins.]

Image

Then scoop your batter into your muffin tin(s) and throw into the oven! I set a timer for 15 minutes and then did the toothpick test. They weren’t quite done, so I let them go for another minute or two. Then they were parfaît!

Image

ImageHappy October! And eat up, y’all!

Leave a Reply

