blueberry muffins

So having a big girl job really cuts into my cooking and baking – and therefore blogging – time. But this recipe is just too good not to stay up past my bedtime to post! If only I could blog smells… then y’all would absolutely stop whatever else is going on and bake these delicious muffins.

So, per usual, I’ll tell y’all a little bit about my life before I get into the good stuff (read: talking about food). My roommate has dressed up our apartment in the Christmas spirit, it’s in the 30s here in Nashvegas, and it’s going to snow in the morning. I think Christmas is in the air! Plus, I have a Tacky Christmas Sweater party on Friday… and I could not be more excited. Parties – especially theme parties – are just my jam (thank you, college and Greek life). My friend, Kacyn, and I made some pretty spectacular get-ups this past weekend. Photos will be posted, don’t y’all worry.

But that’s enough of that. On to the good stuff: BLUEBERRY MUFFINS! Who doesn’t love a good, warm, blueberry muffin? That’s right. Nobody. It would be un-American… like not liking whiskey, or not owning a pair of jorts. No? Not equivalent? #whateveryourewrong

blueberry muffinsImage

ingredients:

  • 1.5 c all purpose flour
  • 1 c whole wheat flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 + pinch salt
  • 1/3 c honey (if you like your muffins sweeter, then go for 1/2+ c. The 1/3 c makes them not so sweet, which I enjoy. It’s all about your preference!)
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 3/4 c milk
  • 2 Tbs olive oil
  • 2 – 3 (heaping) Tbs unsweetened apple sauce
  • 1 (über) ripe banana, mashed
  • 1.75 – 2 c blueberries (fresh or thawed)

directions:

Preheat your oven to 350F. Mix all your dry ingredients with either a whisk or a fork (get out allllll the lumps!) – this includes your flours, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Then add your egg, honey, milk, and olive oil. Mix all that gooey goodness together. Next, mix in the mashed banana and blueberries.

Oil your muffin tin (I used spray coconut oil) and scoop the mixture in. I made 6 muffin tops (see photo above!) and 6 regular muffins. The recipe should yield ~12 regular muffins.

Throw your tin(s) in the oven, set a timer for 20 minutes, and grab yourself a glass of win. Once your glass (or maybe 2?) is gone, your muffins should be just about done! The final product should look something like this:

Image

Eat up, yall!

Leave a Reply

