arugula-pistachio pesto

I know. I know… it’s been entirely too long since my last post. When I come home from work at night, the last thing I want to do is get on another computer. Plus, now I have Gypsy (only the cutest rescue puppy in the entire word. Don’t worry I’m not biased. #yeahright.) and I pretty much only want to play with her. All the time. She’s hilarious. 

Anyway… tonight is pizza night (shocker, I know…) and I wanted to try something different. Usually I do my tried-and-true pizza duo:  prosciutto+arugula salad and potato+turkey bacon+rosemary. Those are always winners, but it was time to put my big-girl panties on and branch out. But branching out is hard… so I still had to include prosciutto and arugula. #whoops. That’s where this post comes in: arugula+pistachio pesto. One of my pizzas will be (nope, haven’t even made them yet) this pesto topped with tomatoes and onions. Sounds like a winner, right? Right. I’ll probably throw some mozz on there, too, just for good measure. So here goes nothin’:

arugula+pistachio pesto

ingredients:

  • 1/4+ c shelled pistachios (I say “+” because I had a hair over 1/4 c)
  • 2 cups arugula 
  • 5 Tbs EEOV 
  • 2-3 garlic cloves, depending on your preference (or if you’re planning on smooching that night…)
  • 1/4 c Parmesan (grated) 

equipment:

  • food processor 

directions:

Throw all that jazz in there and blend it up, baby.

Image

Mine wasn’t getting to quite the pesto-like consistency, so I added about 2 Tbs of warm water (total) to try and loosen it up a bit. You can always add more EEOV if necessary. The arugula gives it this excellent spicy flavor that will blow you away. Just, blow. you. away. Use it on your pizza, pasta, or fave bread/cracker. #noms

Just look at how pretty that color is…

Image

Eat up, y’all!

Leave a Reply

