Restaurant Review – Eastland Cafe

I haven’t been to Eastland Cafe recently (it was before I started doing my little restaurant reviews), but I highly recommend it if you find yourself in East Nasty (read: East Nashville). It has a great atmosphere and wasn’t overly loud (big ‘plus’ for me).

Wine: I was not sure about anything on the menu, so I told the waitress what I like in a red wine (bold, not too fruity). She parleyed with bar tender who let me have a glass (or two) of something not on the menu (but within the same price range). It was pretty great, and I really wish I remember what it was. But alas, I do not. The important thing is that they worked with me (I’m normally not so picky, I promise) and I was thoroughly pleased with the results.

Food: I love mussels. Nick had never had mussels, so I introduced him to these delicious little sea mollusks. Y’all… these mussels were to. die. for. They serve Prince Edward Island mussels in a white wine and crushed tomato sauce and serve them with grilled tuscan bread. We ordered more bread just so we could sop up all the sauce. Highly recommended appetizer.

openeddrainedmussels

Entree: Instead of ordering a “real” entree, I went with another appetizer: the Stone Baked Pizza Margherita . House-pulled mozz, basil from a local supplier of microgreens (C.C. Gardens) and crushed tomatoes. Again, it was delicious. If you haven’t figure it out yet, I love a good thin crust pizza. Just love it. And this one did not disappoint. Again, recommended (not as much as the mussels, though.)

foodphoto-3pizzas-250

Eat up, y’all!

[photo creds: http://www.foodrenegade.com/southwest-mussel-chowder/ (just a pretty photo of mussels, I think); http://eastlandcafe.com/menu.html]

Leave a Reply

