BBQ Sweet Potato Nachos

Hey y’all, I’m back! After an almost 9-month hiatus, I’m back on the blog! Last night’s dinner was just too good (and easy and cheap) not to share. These “nachos” can also be made with ground beef, turkey or chicken, cooked in taco seasoning. But, nachos of the BBQ variety are simply my favorite.

We recently got a Big Green EGG (eek!) and Man Crush has been smoking different meats every weekend that we’re home (which, so far, has only been 2. Hello wedding season!). The project last weekend was turkey, and HOLY COW did it turn out so delicious. We found ourselves with 12 lbs. of turkey to consume, so I wanted a creative way of consuming said deliciously-smoked poultry. Obviously, nachos was my first thought (well, behind pizza, but I wanted a less-carby option 🙂 ). So, nachos it was, and I’m veryglad I made them because they were dynamite! (I’m so humble, I know.)

Here’s how I did it:

Ingredients:

  • Two (2) medium sweet potatoes
  • One (1) bunch fresh cilantro
  • One (1) can tomatoes & green chilies (or plain diced tomatoes, if you don’t like green chilies)
  • One (1) can black beans (low sodium)
  • One (1) can yellow corn (low sodium)
  • Fat free sour cream (or 0% Greek yogurt)
  • One (1) bag low fat Mexican blend shredded cheese (I probably used about 1-1.5 cups)
  • Two (2) ripe avocados
  • 2-3 cups pulled turkey, chicken or pork, tossed in BBQ sauce of choice (make it as meaty as you want!)
  • Salsa, of choice (I recommend mango, peach or pineapple salsa! It complements the BBQ very well.)
  • Coconut oil (or cooking oil of choice)

Tools:

  • Two (2) medium mixing bowls (one for the BBQ/meat combo, the other for the veggies)
  • One large baking sheet, lined with a Silpat or aluminum foil
  • Knife and cutting board, for chopping cilantro and slicing open that ripe avo

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 F. Peel and slice sweet potatoes into thin slices (that resemble chips). Toss in coconut oil (or baking oil of choice) and place on foil-lined baking sheet. Bake for 15-20 minutes, depending on how crispy you want them. I like mine pretty crispy!

While the sweet potato “chips” are baking, drain your corn, black beans and tomatoes and chilies. Combine in a medium bowl. When the sweet potatoes are cooked to your liking, remove them from oven and spread the corn/black bean/tomato/green chili mixture on top of the “chips.” Then spread the BBQ meat, and finally top with cheese! (I tend to go lighter on the cheese so it does not overpower the BBQ flavor.) Turn your oven tobroil and pop the sucker in! All broilers are different (I learned the hard way…), so watch your nachos and remove once the cheese is melted and the exposed sweet potato edges are crispy. (Mine were crispy at 3 minutes, but I like them that way.)

Top with sliced avocado (I serve ½ avo per serving/plate of nachos), a dollop of sour cream (or Greek yogurt), a large spoonful salsa and chopped fresh cilantro.

The above quantity of nachos fed the Man Crush and I both for dinner and lunch the following day (so, 4 meals total for hungry adults). They heat up really well as leftovers!

Eat up, y’all!

IMG_2412

Leave a Reply

